UK and International Tax news

GAAR Interim Advisory Panel Announced

Tuesday 29th January 2013

The Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury announced on 7 November 2012 that HMRC would appoint interim members to the GAAR Advisory Panel, led by Graham Aaronson QC, to oversee the development of the new guidance.  Graham Aaronson QC was asked to convene the group and make recommendations for appointments to cover a range of interests  including business, tax advisers and the wider taxpayer interest.  On the recommendation of Graham Aaronson, the Commissioners for HMRC have appointed the following individuals:

  • Graham Aaronson QC (Chair)   
  • John Barnett 
  • John Bartlett
  • Emma Chamberlain
  • Rob Clayton
  • Bill Dodwell    
  • Steve Edge   
  • Francesca Lagerberg   
  • David McNair 
  • Richard Murphy
  • Gary Richards
  • Tim Voak

These interim appointments will end on 31 March 2013.  The process to appoint the Chair of the Advisory Panel is currently in progress.

Contact Us